Margaret A. Farley

Gilbert L. Stark Professor Emerita of Christian Ethics

Margaret Farley is Gilbert L. Stark Professor Emerita of Christian Ethics at Yale University Divinity School. She is the author or co-editor of seven books, including Personal Commitments: Beginning, Keeping, Changing; Compassionate Respect; and most recently, Just Love: A Framework for Christian Sexual Ethics. She has published more than 100 articles and chapters of books on topics of ethical methodology, medical ethics, sexual ethics, social ethics, historical theological ethics, ethics and spirituality, justice and HIV/AIDS. She has lectured widely not only in the United States but Southeast Asia, Africa, and Western Europe.

Professor Farley is the recipient of eleven honorary degrees and a variety of fellowships and awards, including the 1992 John Courtney Murray Award for Excellence in Theology and the 2008 Grawemeyer Award in Religion for her book, Just Love. She has served on numerous editorial and advisory boards and national ethics committees. She was a founding member of Yale-New Haven Hospital’s Bioethics Committee; and she served for eight years as Co-director of the Yale University Interdisciplinary Bioethics Center. She was Director of Yale Divinity School’s Women’s Initiative: Gender, Faith, and Responses to HIV/AIDS in Africa. She is past president of both the Society of Christian Ethics and the Catholic Theological Society of America.


A.B., M.A. University of Detroit
M.Phil., Ph.D. Yale University


  1. A Metaphysics of Being and God, co-author (Prentice-Hall,1966)
  2. Personal Commitments: Beginning, Keeping, Changing (Harper, 1986)
  3. Embodiment, Morality, and Medicine, co-editor (Kluwer, 1995)
  4. Readings in Moral Theology, No. 9: Feminist Ethics and the Catholic Moral Tradition, co-editor (Paulist, 1996)
  5. Liberating Eschatology: Essays in Honor of Letty M. Russell, co-editor (Westminster/John Knox, 1999)
  6. Compassionate Respect (Paulist, 2002)
  7. Just Love: A Framework for Christian Sexual Ethics (Continuum, 2006)